These stories speak to emotions and ideas that are common to us all,
regardless of our location or time period. Men and women enjoy them
equally. Their basis is historical - Key West in the mid-1800's. The
stories are pure imagination.

In "Sand Dolla
r," we meet Mary Thorne who, bored by conventional life
on Green Turtle Cay, yearns for independence, travel, and adventure.
She reluctantly agrees to marry Richard Randall, a wrecker, thinking she
will at least avoid the church bazaars her sister dotes on. Less than a year after Mary’s wedding, a massive
hurricane brushes the Bahamas and devastates Key West. Mary moves with her house and her husband to
Key West, ambitious for expanded opportunities. But travel takes her far from the security of home.
Adventure involves danger and independence brings demanding situations and hard decisions.

"Pieces of Eight is the sequel to "Sand Dollar"
. It tells the story of Julia Miller who left her home and family on
Green Turtle Cay and eloped to Key West. Love clouded her vision, but raising two children, their fathers long-
gone, and life in a homeless camp brought into sharp focus a harsher reality than she ever imagined. And yet,
she couldn’t return to Green Turtle Cay. "Pie
ces of Eight" explores the choices women make and the meaning
of home.

I know you will enjoy the books. You can order signed copies from me at or

order from They are also available on Kindle.

I'm working on the third book in the series, whose working title is "Chambered Nautilus." I expect it

will be published in 2016.

"Sand Dollar" and "Pieces of Eight" are book club favorites. I hope you enjoy sharing them with

your friends. If you would like ideas for discussion questions, email me at
and I'll send you some ideas.
     Sand Dollar
    Pieces of Eight
tales of old Key West
by Jane Louise Newhagen
© Jane Louise Newhagen
"After Life" is a sensitively
compiled collection of images

from the Key West City
Cemetery. I wrote the text to
accompany the artistic
photographs taken by my

talented friends Carol Tedesco
and Roberta DePiero. It is also     
available on